Why Don't We Stop the Prophet? (17.8.2012)

<< Previous Show
Next Show >>

Starting from the sweet sounds of Roy Ayers's grossly uptempoed "The Memory", Siah & Yeshua's grooviest rap drops and sets the tone for this surreal and unprecedented mash up mix by Adam Weisser. Forefronted by hip-hop, this set breaches the usual genre boundaries, as unlikely pieces are mixed on top of those booty-shaking beats. Villa-Lobos's Brazilian classical piece connects Siah & Yesh with Sa Ra's Love Czars. Sa Ra return for another strike, as the set grows faster in an inseperable sequence starting from Slum Village through ATCQ and Dudley Perkins (produced by Madlib). The momemntum increases with the tightly-coupled Love Unlimited Orchestra and Roots.

Why don't you get the hell outta here?
(Many unfortunate camels in Moyale, Ethiopia, 2012; photo by Ofer Meir, ADW's crop)

The last tracks of the set are bringing it to the beats and BPM of house and techno, as the born-to-be-mashed Henrik Schwarz's remix of the Detroit Experiment leads to the lovely profanities of 212 by Azaelia Banks – leaving you yearning for more...

  • Roy Ayers The Memory [Polydor]
  • Siah and Yeshua dapoED Gravity [Traffic Entertainment Group]
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos Chôros No. 10 (for choir and orchestra; The National Radio Orchestra and Choir of France, conducted by the composer)* [EMI France]
  • Sa-Ra Creative Partners Love Czars* [Ubiquity Records]
  • The Mystic Moods Cosmic Sea [Warner Bros. Records]
  • Mystikal Bouncin Back (Bumpin' Me Against the Wall) [Jive]
  • Tek 9 Seven Days (DJ Spinna Instrumental Remix) [SSR Records]
  • Dangerdoom Vats of Urine [Epitaph]
  • People Under the Stairs We'll Be There [OM Records]
  • Slum Village Hear It* [Barak Records]
  • A Tribe Called Quest Pad & Pen feat. D-Life* [Jive]
  • Dudley Perkins Me. [Stones Throw Records]
  • Sa-Ra Creative Partners Do Me Gurl (Feat. Ty from Ty & Kory) [Babygrande]
  • Love Unlimited Orchestra Strange Games and Things [20th Century Records]
  • The Roots 100% Dundee [MCA Records]
  • Jazmine Sullivan Backstabbers [White]
  • The Detroit Experiment Highest [Ropeadope Records]
  • Jeru the Damaga You Can't Stop the Prophet [Payday, FFRR]
  • Amerie Why Don't We Fall in Love (Richcraft Remix) [Columbia]
  • Black Moon Back in Town* [Duck Down]
  • Hypnotic Brass Ensemble War [Honest Jon's Records]
  • De La Soul Days of Our Lives (Feat. Common) [Sanctuary Records]
  • Theo Parrish The Rink [Sound Signature]
  • H.I.S.D (Hueston Independent Spit District) The Hue (Seen Green) (Feat. Chris "Daddy" Dave) [Expanded-Art-Records/PUM]
  • The Detroit Experiment Think Twice (Henrik Schwarz Remix)* [Juno Records]
  • Monie Love Monie in the Middle* [Chrysalis]
  • Azealia Banks 212 [Interscope Records]

Total duration: 51:10

Listen to the show here:

Why Don't We Stop the Prophet? (Adam Weisser) on Radio Halas (streaming)

<< Previous Show
Next Show >>